Over 7000 Hosting User Reviews

Let your voice be heard - submit a review
Read and give your reviews and
verdicts on web hosting companies
from around the world
Hot Hosting Deals!!
iPage Special Offer
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Free Domain & Setup
$1.99/month
- More Info
Fatcow Price Cut!
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Free Domain & Setup
$3.15/month
- More Info
Green Geeks Host Green!
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Free Domain & Setup
$4.95/month
- More Info
HostGator Editors Choice!
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- 25% Off Coupon
$3.96/month
More Info
Arvixe
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Use WHJ for 20% off
$4.00/month
More Info
Bluehost
- Best Business Host
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- 99.9% Uptime
$3.95/month
More Info






Site Design by


 

Web Hosting Reviews

Citymax Reviews
http://www.citymax.com/



There are 31 Citymax user reviews

Average Jury Ratings & Reviews of Citymax

       
4.1/5
3.4/5
3.3/5
2.9/5
Reliability
Support
Pricing
Overall

Below are some verdicts that users of our site have given to Citymax . If you would like to submit your verdict about Citymax please use our submit page to review Citymax.

Owner of Citymax ?
If so click here

Date Submitted : April 7th, 2014
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I woul like to write about citymay. Its great and good web site. Thank tothis web site I was able to created so nice web pages. Its very easy to use
it and add pages, photos, articles...

I will continue to enjoy this web host
Submitted By : Zoran
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.114.54.127 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : March 18th, 2014
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Although my website is not yet live (which is due to illness), CITYMAX.COM has been the BEST E-Commerce hosting provider that I have found so far, and believe me when i say, I HAVE TRIED THEM ALL~the features offered by Citymax if sold separately, would far surpass the MINISCULE amount they are charging per month. Even a kindergardener who just learned to spell could use this site with all the support and features they offer! Seriously, if you don't believe me, check them out for yourself, you won't be sorry!!
Submitted By : Andrea
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 100.4.155.119 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : January 28th, 2014
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I love my service and have had my site for over 4 years. The staff is always very fast and precise with any questions that I have always had. I am a model and actress and it has helped me a lot with my career. Thank you citymax you are awesome! Cindy McDonald
Submitted By : Cindy
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 50.102.83.96 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : September 18th, 2013
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : This host allows easy creation of pages for selling and tracking tickets to events, creation of basic informational web pages, photo galleries, and media pages. Basic use is very easy to pick up. Resource pages are not particularly easy to use and explanations are sometimes obscure, but online support is generally very helpful and responds in a timely manner. I would like to be able to create and test a page without it being public, manage photos more easily, and have more freedom with design options (wider variety of fonts, font colors especially). There are a number of features which we have not yet fully explored, such as calendars and polling.

Overall, CityMax is a basic host which is pretty easy to use, but which has room for improvement.
Submitted By : Maria
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 96.244.146.166 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : May 27th, 2013
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I have posted my website with citymax for over 10 years. Their templates for building websites are simple to use; and provide excellent displays for your products. My business picked up dramatically shortly after submitting my new website to the search engines; and ordering products is extremely easy for my customers. Their customer service department has always proved friendly and helpful.
Submitted By : canebeard
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 65.8.184.76 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : March 14th, 2013
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 4 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : Generally satisfied, except for the emphasis on drawing new customers with more and more new templates, while ignoring simple improvements that would make their existing customers much happier. Many suggestions made two and three years ago still not implemented.
Submitted By : Randy
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 174.1.236.83 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : January 18th, 2013
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Great host, always fast, support is helpful and prompt, very pleased A+ service!
Submitted By : Phil
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 74.198.151.30 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : January 11th, 2013
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Used a lot of different web builders over the years but I think I have finally found a good home at CityMax. They have a good blend of simplicity, price, and customization. My only negative is that I went out and bought a domain name before realizing the give you one for free with your website. Customer support on the web is always fast I hate waiting on hold so it's nice to send a ticket and get an email when my answer is ready, usually the same day
Submitted By : Larry
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 74.198.151.27 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : January 9th, 2013
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I have always been impressed with the customer service/tech support at Citymax. Their responses have always been quick and accurate. I have never encountered a maintenance outage that was not announced and they have always been a short duration and well out of normal business hours. The quick editor is user friendly and there is also an HTML option when needed.
Submitted By : Richard
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 206.81.75.94 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 21st, 2012
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Impresed by the level of detail their support agents go into when trying to solve a problem. They answer each of my questions and give several followups when clarification is needed. Glad I chose CityMax, they have not let me down yet.
Submitted By : Charles
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 74.198.151.13 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : December 12th, 2012
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 4 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Customer support will not call no matter how bad the problem is. My phone numbers are jammed up so nobody can get me and my login is not working. each time I try to login it locks me out on one try saying it has been 10 tries.
Keep sending login is unlocked, try this code, same thiong. They will not call to work this out. Im done.
Submitted By : Ryan
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 96.43.30.82 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : October 22nd, 2012
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : easy to use - good support
Submitted By : Poett Nook
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 70.70.216.71 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : April 27th, 2012
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : This host DOES NOT ALLOW TRANSFER OR HELP FACILITATE DOWNLOAD OF CONTENT to another host. They have you hostage with no way to move content without starting over. The NON support department is just that.

Here is my latest plea to the NON support department:

Since you refuse help your customers transfer content to another host, will you at least put my site back up? I need it but despise the fact that you are holding me hostage. Put the site back up, please.

Atlanta Vintage Guitars
Perry Jones
Submitted By : Admin
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 108.214.44.233 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : April 4th, 2011
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Terrible customer service. Used them for over 10 years and recommended them to others, but when I needed to cancel because I no longer had the business they would not return calls or emails forcing me to dispute the charges at my bank, and they STILL kept attempting to deduct the fees from my bank each month for my 4 websites. After weeks and weeks of phone calls, emails, support tickets, etc. there is no way that it's an oversight. They simply think they can get away with making it next to impossible to stop paying them.
Submitted By : Tim
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 76.221.85.19 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : May 13th, 2010
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : We have been with Citymax for a long time. Their system enabled us to get an ecommerce site up and running quickly and easily. The site still serves us well to this day. We like the fact that they make improvements and upgrades to the sytem on a regular basis. Most of our support tickets are addressed within 3-4 hours. For immediate assistance, they also have a live chat support feature. Citymax provides value for money.
Submitted By : wendy
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.84.169.32 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : May 12th, 2010
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Citymax.com has been a great asset to my company. We have used their web builder and hosting for the past 4 years and couldnt be happier. The site has a very high up-time and they work hard to constantly update and improve their web builder. Any issues are handled immediately and they are more than willing to help with any questions that we have.
Our business does 99% of our business online and a good hosting service is a must. We are 100% satisfied with Citymax.com and we will continue to use their services.
Submitted By : Marco
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.188.156.249 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : March 15th, 2010
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Terrible support. Credit card issue still unanswered after 2 weeks; unstable editor; and absolutley NO support. Should have known - there used to be a help telephone number.
Submitted By : Carl
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 75.166.128.248 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 7th, 2009
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : You guys have made so many improvements over the years. Its so easy now, all the edit programs are easier. My favorite thing is your support team. When I couldnt get a shopping cart to show up, one of the support people helped me unhide the cart. They were so nice!

Laura aka Grandma Cuddles
Submitted By : Grandma Cuddles
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 95.154.217.35 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : April 6th, 2009
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : Terrible service. Far too difficult to customize to get a professional looking site. It is just not customizable enough. Don't waste the time I did trying to make it work. You can get much better service from many other hosts out there and just put up a FREE or inexpensive WordPress template that is much easier to customize. Can you believe that they won't even take down my site right away (I don't want this horrid thing coming up in anybody's search results!). It's still there after I canceled it "immediately" over a week ago and apparently won't disappear until the time that I paid for runs out. Lame!
Submitted By : amy
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.130.111.205 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : February 20th, 2009
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : I guess you get what you pay for! Front and back-end is down again today. No way of contacting them. I do not have a telephone number or even an email address!! They force you to use the slowticket system, however there is no backend at all right now or for the last day! Wonderful! I guess thats a lesson for me and for others deciding to rely their livelyhood on a cheap low-end solution. Lost over 1500$ this week over non activity of citymax.So the cheap monthly fee has cost alot more than it seems. Stay away from these amateurs. Get a real website.
Submitted By : hedgehogtree
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 79.166.81.81 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : February 1st, 2009
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : Started out okay , very easy to use. There is no basic search which we have been asking for years. They change things to just change them and ruin your website in the process . Iffy customer support. No way to transfer our site to another , will have to build from bottom up. I need to find a better host. I do not recommend them for a business website , personal would probably be fine for the price. George
Submitted By : george
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 70.128.9.9 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 22nd, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Citymax has become a business liability.
Poor customer support, poor knowledge of client needs and ability to fix problems.
If only bandwidth latency and outdated templates were our main concern; we went for weeks with irregular and lost email and recently experienced problems accessing our account to edit pages.
One would think that with these problems that their customer services dept. would rise to the occasion. All one gets is a recorded message and email support might take a day or two. Following a severe outage this year, we finally managed to track down a account rep. who told us that there was an underground explosion and fire had disrupted or ruined their server pipeline. When I asked him if they backed-up their client sites on another offsite location, he said they were thinking about it. Very poor contingency planning for a host servicing many thousands of clients.

Unfortunately we cannot transplant our site to another server because of their protected code so we are looking for a web design firm to move our site to a new host. Citymax could be tolerated by a very small business or by personal home page users. If you are looking for reliability and value, keep looking, as an online business, they have become our biggest liability.
Submitted By : Jenny
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 206.223.226.69 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 7th, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Site down way too frequently if you\'re trying to run a business. Right now e-mail has been down for more than 24 hours.
Submitted By : SpiralFlightYoga
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 71.178.83.20 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : September 25th, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : Citymax is a very low cost host. As my mother said, you get what you pay for.
Customer service is a joke. They do not fix problems. They are not extrememly knowledgeable.
The WORST part is that their pages and their products are not downloadable/transferrable. I sell about 500 different items. In order to change web hosts, I need to COMPLETELY remake my 2 websites, a lengthy process. I am starting 2 OSCommerce sites but the way Citymax has their pages set up, I cannot just transfer my pages over. I will need to hire someone to help me get through the redevelopment of our sites. Very clever Citymax, but you are retaining customers simply by being difficult, not because we love you.
Submitted By : B in NY
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 209.48.93.165 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : March 1st, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Email stops coming for days at a time.
No phone support.
Unreliable, bad-attitude on-line support. Can take a day to answer a very simple question.
On-line manuals are very bad.
No ability to view inventory other than on single products, one by one.
No search function for your website.
Little flexibility in placement of things on your pages.
No Google integration for products.
Again with the email problem (it's constant...)
When you complain you get "you can't sue us, it's AS IS."
Bad page load speed.
Honestly, I could go on for days. And when you want to move, there is no way to let Google properly know (because of how CityMax is set up) SO YOU WILL LOSE ALL OF YOUR PAGE RANKS YOU'VE WORKED SO HARD TO GET HIGH IN THE RANKINGS.
CityMax is probably the worst business I have ever done business with.
Submitted By : BigBiz
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 75.22.181.251 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : May 25th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Love the website, hate the customer service. I have had an ongoing technical support issue that the company at first refused to acknowledged, then acknowledged but has been incapable of fixing. Each time I submit a support ticket about this ongoing problem it's like sending it in for the first time and it's obvious that they don't even understand what the problem is. There is no way of reaching this company by phone and the email tech support, while quick, is woefully inadequate.
Submitted By : Ellen
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.46.202.103 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : October 16th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Although the price is world class, get prepared for a ride on the Frustration Roller Coaster. The site is guaranteed to go down at least three maybe four hours a day.

Do yourself the biggest favor and make back up copies of every page that you build as well as print out pages that you have built whether with their tools or offline.

Baby, this site is going to go down one day and it it will never come back. Dont be just be careful; be ready!

You have been warned!
Submitted By : Dr. Jay
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.83.168.125 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : October 11th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : We used CityMax for our business website because I had past experience with CitySlide (their personal site equivalent to CityMax), and had not had any problems in the past. Just like the reviewer below, I would agree that something has happened in the past few months which has drastically changed their service quality. The fact that you cannot speak with a real person on a phone for any customer service, and can only send them support questions through the website is extremely annoying. This is especially the case when they are having server issues and the site is down! When you do finally get a response, it is a generic "we appreciate your concern" and "we are working to address the issue". Of course, you are also told to not reply to that email because it is an automated response.

We are also working with another provider to get our site up and running, and away from CityMax as soon as possible. Apparently, the issues are widespread with all of Website Dynamics' template based website hosting companies (including CitySlide). I know of other people who are still using CitySlide, and have run into the same problems recently. They had best clean up their act or they will find more companies migrating away from them!
Submitted By : ks
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 72.208.19.214 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : July 17th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : Things started out okay with CityMax, but have gone downhill in a hurry. Support is via email only and even then it is not terrific. My site has been unable to process orders for weeks (both via PayPal and Authorize.net processors). Tech support (such as it is) seems largely unconcerned about their network-wide problem. I am recreating my website with another host and will leave CityMax as soon as humanly possible. My advice: Avoid CityMax and all the other Website Dynamics hosting reselling companies. They are unreliable and will make you look unprofessional to your customers.
Submitted By : MaryMary
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 71.106.25.213 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 2nd, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : Less than 1 month
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict :
I signed up with them because they had tools for downloadable items for purchase.
You can add choice boxes to you Products page (ie. size, color, stain,etc). you can
name them yourself, but they are just for the printing of your order. you can choose a
different path because they chose green instead of blue. My problem is I wanted to
choose Mac, PC, or Linix software to download. Well you can only put ONE file
for download per item. So I have to make 3 Product pages for each Item, and there is
no way to cut and paste.

Also, I didn't realize how little disk space they offer.
It's ridiculous.
You get 50MB of disk space to start. you can buy more at $1/10MB/month

Here I can get 3200 MB for $30.00/month
http://www.npsis.com/hosting/
If I was to pay $30 more per month for disk space with cityMax, I'd get 300 MB!
That is a 2900MB Difference!

I am selling downloadable software. Each file is 50MB. So having both PC and Mac
formats is going to cost me $10/month per Item just for storage!

They also offer shopping carts, and bill pay, but You need to get another company to
do the processing of the bills, so that's another $20/month for credit card processing.

They seem like a really good price to start, but it adds up quickly.

I will say this: It was easy to get my page up and running in just a few hours, and they have
a lot of good money making tools, and links.
The disk space issue was the worst part of all this.
Submitted By : Brian
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.130.32.99 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : September 29th, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Citymax advertises that they have have an easy-to-use site builder, and are completely configurable.

They have a lot of major problems:

You cannot design your site locally, then upload it. You have to build it online. The closes you can get to this is to cut-and-paste html into their online forms.

They do not store your pages as html. They are stored in a database and created on the fly. So you cannot back up your website. You can only get a site mirror tool to download every single page to your local computer.

They don't have the concept of development vs released pages. When you change a page and click SAVE, it is immediately live for the world to see. That makes it very difficult when you are making changes to a large group of pages that need to be released together.

Most of my requests for support result in instructions for work-arounds for their shortcomings.

Their shopping cart is very weak. In one group of products I have around 100 items that are very similar. I had to manually create the product page for each one. There is no way to duplicate an existing page and then modify it.

Their checkout process and cart are very weak. Only suitable for small simple items. Example - no way to specify that a certain item is large and will need shipping calculated as a separate parcel from the rest of the order. Very cumbersome to get accurate shipping cost unless you always ship one item per order.

They have little understanding of eCommerce. For example, one solution to the shipping calculations that they suggested: Have the customers put their items into a cart and then email me. I can manually calculate the shipping cost, then email them. Then they can log in and complete the order. Ridiculous!

I can go on, but this site is basically bad news. For the $20 per month, you can do much better!
Submitted By : John
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.15.56.153 
Add new response or edit existing response


Citymax Site Screenshot - http://www.citymax.com/

 

* This site uses Thumbshots previews


Newest Reviews

  • ValcatoHosting
  • Citymax
  • DreamHost
  • Blurstorm
  • AccuWebHosting
  • JodiHost
  • Go Daddy
  • Omnis
  • United Hosting
  • 247-host
  • Network Solutions
  • 1and1
  • GigaPros
  • UKHost4U
  • BrontoBytes





  •  
     


    © Web Hosting Jury
    *All reviews and content are the property of Web Hosting Jury and may not be copied without prior written consent. All violations will be prosecuted to the full extent of the law.
    All reviews on this website are the opinion or experience of the respective review writer. By publishing these reviews on our site we do not agree or have the same opinion as the writer of the review.
    Please send all comments and suggestions to webmaster@webhostingjury.com
    Citymax 3.3 out of 5 based on 31 user reviews.