Over 7000 Hosting User Reviews

Let your voice be heard - submit a review
Read and give your reviews and
verdicts on web hosting companies
from around the world
Hot Hosting Deals!!
iPage Special Offer
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Free Domain & Setup
$1.99/month
- More Info
Fatcow Price Cut!
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Free Domain & Setup
$3.15/month
- More Info
Green Geeks Host Green!
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Free Domain & Setup
$4.95/month
- More Info
HostGator Editors Choice!
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- 25% Off Coupon
$3.96/month
More Info
Arvixe
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Use WHJ for 20% off
$4.00/month
More Info
Bluehost
- Best Business Host
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- 99.9% Uptime
$3.95/month
More Info






Site Design by


 

Web Hosting Reviews

NearlyFreeSpeech Reviews
http://www.nearlyfreespeech.net/



There are 4 NearlyFreeSpeech user reviews

Average Jury Ratings & Reviews of NearlyFreeSpeech

       
5.0/55.0/5
4.8/5
4.5/5
Reliability
Support
Pricing
Overall

Below are some verdicts that users of our site have given to NearlyFreeSpeech . If you would like to submit your verdict about NearlyFreeSpeech please use our submit page to review NearlyFreeSpeech.

Owner of NearlyFreeSpeech ?
If so click here

Date Submitted : July 17th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I found NFS via bugmenot.com (they have a banner for the host, which is totally voluntary). NearlyFreeSpeech is a company I will continue to work with and recommend until something really drastic changes - they care about their customers and their customers' success, which is more than you can say about most hosting companies.

Their service is pay-as-you-go, which might be a little confusing. Basically, a static HTML Web site is subject to the following charges:

$1 / GB of transfer
$.01 / MB every month for storage.

These rates haven't changed since I signed up some 15 months ago.

They provide MySQL (version 5 as of a month or two ago), PHP 4 (PHP 5 is in beta and full availability does not look to be too far off in the future), and a variety of scripting languages via CGI.

MySQL costs:

$.01 / day for your first process
$.01 / day if you want InnoDB with that
$.01 / day if you are in the top 10% of database users on that particular day
$.02 / day if you need a second _process_

One MySQL process can still host multiple databases. I don't see why you'd even need two processes.

Customer support is fantastic (no phone, but it's not really needed, they don't have major downtime): for no extra charge, you can e-mail them during business hours and you often get a response within an hour or two. If you pay for "extended support," ($1/mo.) the support hours are extended; however, I know of several weekend issues that were answered all the same.

The only real drawback for NFS is that they don't (yet) have any scalable languages other than PHP (no, CGI is not considered scalable, though their servers are pretty darn fast). While some kind of FastCGI support is a definite "maybe," I don't see it happening in the near future.
Submitted By : Steve
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 67.169.13.4 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : April 27th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I moved my photos from my ISP-hosted site (Verizon) to nearlyfreespeech.net when I ran into the Verizon space limit. The NFSN pricing model is perfect for me, because my usage is typically very low, but I occasionally need to post large volumes of data and support a brief flurry of access. I'm paying a few pennies per day for this, whereas the typical hosting company wants to set up a monthly plan that would cost much more and then require later cancellation. A big hassle, and like health clubs and other shady operators, most web hosting companies hope to make easy money on people who don't actually use the service. So I really like the NFSN business model and their respect for customers. As for the quality, it's faster than my old site on Verizon, no down-time problems, and no hassles so far.
Submitted By : gapowers
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 12.104.153.15 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : January 8th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Have hosted a dozen sites with them for a year now. Business model is unique, but perfectly suited for small sites. Two downtimes in nearly 3 years, but nobody's perfect. Support hours are reasonable (business hours M-F), and response is almost immediate.

Not recommended for first-timers, but excellent for low-traffic sites.
Submitted By : Jeff
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.7.65.109 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : April 6th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : Less than 1 month
Overall Rating : 4 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Really cheap - they're not kidding when they say average user costs about 25 cents a month!! It's pay as you go, with really cheap prices, check their website. DNS resolving is usually slow. No cpanel, and their members panel is sometimes slow too. Transfer speeds is okay for just webpage hosting.
Submitted By : Han
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 70.28.253.148 
Add new response or edit existing response


NearlyFreeSpeech Site Screenshot - http://www.nearlyfreespeech.net/

 

* This site uses Thumbshots previews


Newest Reviews

  • Host 1 Plus
  • 247-host
  • Holbi Hosting
  • Go Daddy
  • HostDime
  • Citymax
  • 1and1
  • 101sitehosting
  • WebHosting UK
  • PolurNET Webhosting
  • ValcatoHosting
  • DreamHost
  • Blurstorm
  • AccuWebHosting
  • JodiHost





  •  
     


    © Web Hosting Jury
    *All reviews and content are the property of Web Hosting Jury and may not be copied without prior written consent. All violations will be prosecuted to the full extent of the law.
    All reviews on this website are the opinion or experience of the respective review writer. By publishing these reviews on our site we do not agree or have the same opinion as the writer of the review.
    Please send all comments and suggestions to webmaster@webhostingjury.com
    NearlyFreeSpeech 4.8 out of 5 based on 4 user reviews.