Over 7000 Hosting User Reviews

Let your voice be heard - submit a review
Read and give your reviews and
verdicts on web hosting companies
from around the world
Hot Hosting Deals!!
iPage Special Offer
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Free Domain & Setup
$1.99/month
- More Info
Fatcow Price Cut!
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Free Domain & Setup
$3.15/month
- More Info
Green Geeks Host Green!
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Free Domain & Setup
$4.95/month
- More Info
HostGator Editors Choice!
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- 25% Off Coupon
$3.96/month
More Info
Arvixe
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Use WHJ for 20% off
$4.00/month
More Info
Bluehost
- Best Business Host
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- 99.9% Uptime
$3.95/month
More Info






Site Design by


 

Web Hosting Reviews

Site5 Reviews
http://www.site5.com/



There are 53 Site5 user reviews

Average Jury Ratings & Reviews of Site5

       
3.7/5
2.8/52.8/5
2.7/5
Reliability
Support
Pricing
Overall

Below are some verdicts that users of our site have given to Site5 . If you would like to submit your verdict about Site5 please use our submit page to review Site5.

Owner of Site5 ?
If so click here

Date Submitted : May 29th, 2013
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : they surprise-charged me without my permission and then I had to waist half a day just to get it canceled. you cant delete your account without talking to support, that waisted some more of my day. They fill out your inbox with spam all year round. who needs this bullying? there are plenty other good web hosters.
Submitted By : avigail
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 77.126.49.138 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : February 20th, 2013
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : They are pathetic; espcially when downgrading from their pathetic VPS which is very expensive.

When you migrate to them, everything is a breeze; when downgrading its the killer for them! You are all on your own.

Even after "begging" them literally to help me move the Cpanel backup file from this account to the other (both on site5), due to my low mobile phone connection (around 400 MB); they told me its against their policies to assist in DOWN-grades!!

Ben (CEO) does not respond, and I am happy to have left those pathetic people at support (who by the way are very incompetent). Overselling will destroy site5 with BAD support.
Submitted By : Said
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 41.153.216.119 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : February 9th, 2013
Length of time hosted by this company : Less than 1 month
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : I move to site 5 in in the 12 of Jan, 2013, about 3 days of having my site there, they suspended first stating my use over the resource point then 2nd It seem your running a Private ragnarok server on shared hosting.

1st
Your account is currently over the Resource Point limit for your hosting plan. Because of the severity of the overage, we were forced to suspend your account effective immediately. We try not to take such drastic measures unless it is absolutely necessary, but unfortunately your account was causing downtime for other customers on the server.

2nd
I am sorry to see your website was disabled for using too many resources, we only do this as a last resort as we always want our customers websites to be online. Reviewing your setup it appears you are running a private Ragnarok Online server.

So it kinda funny they said i was run a private ro server on shared hosting.

At first how is my site using over the resource limit, and 2nd of how is a private ro server being ran on your service when only a (a record is setup). They had nothing else to say about the ro server but they show me this for the resource point. How i was using well over 15000

Reseller Username Total CPU Daily CPU % Processes Avg. Memory (kB) Last Uniques Current Uniques
-------- -------- --------------------------- --------- ---------------- ------------ ---------------
XXXXXX - 1322.78 1322.78 31.95 485862 125759 - -
| XXXXXXX 1322.78 1322.78 31.95 485862 125759 0 5669

and said this, So they said you will have to upgrade vps8, so you can get your site unsuspended.

I kinda had to agree to get my stuff,

then i ask them to down grade my service and they refuse stating this

i am using almost 7.5 gb of ram and there is no way you can downgrade, and we wont let it you, and if you ask anymore time to downgrade your stuff you will be terminated on are service.

and post how much ram my server was using.

root@levelup-dns [~]# free -m
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 8192 7426 765 0 298 6284
-/+ buffers/cache: 843 7348
Swap: 1023 0 1023

So i move my stuff to another hosting company and i use well less ill show you

Virtual Memory Usage 104760 / 1048576 KB
Physical Memory Usage 29764 / 1048576 KB
Entry Processes 1 / 20
I/O Usage 0 / 1024 KB/s

and this is when my site is get about 200k view in a hours so can someone tell me, when i switch host all this is better. There is a big problem with there servers in site5 and i would never recommend this company to anyone ever. There staff will force you to upgrade, and they will suspended with out any warning.
Submitted By : Cory
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 65.191.191.234 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 11th, 2012
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : I have been with site5 for quite a while now, since May 2008. There were problems but in the end they got resolved, except the one I have now with resource points.

I have the hostPro + Turbo Limit plan. I have a few websites that have almost zero traffic and a website fotografiasi.ro, that has some traffic. I had also another website with site5 that eat same as fotografiasi.ro and I was forced to move it somewhere by site5 staff last week. And I was told that I have to uprate to Reseller Hosting Standard for $34/month => $408/year. Yesterday on 10th of December 2012 I had 53 visits and 134 page views (based on google analytics) and only fotografiasi.ro consumed 585 resource points (based on the Resource Usage on the admin panel). I used to have a lot more (10 times or more) visitors before and I got no complaint about consuming to much points. fotografiasi.ro is a wordpress website that uses the following known plugins:
- akismet
- contact form 7
- facebook comments for wordpress
- fd feedburner plugin
- google xml sitemaps
- jetpack
- nexgen gallery
- pinterest lightbox
- quick page/post redirect
- really simple captcha
- wordpress seo
Using the suggested by site5 plugin P# (plugin performance profiler) wordpress seo plugin eats 25% and nextgen 20% of the total resources used. So my website fotografiasi.ro is a bellow average normal website. How can such a website really need a Reseller hosting to be able to function properly? The best shared web hosting plan from site5 can not handle a bellow average website? This situation is beyond pathetic. It is outrageous. I am very disappointed.

There are a few possibilities:
1. site5 servers suck and can not handle bellow average traffic websites
2. site5 is forcing us to pay them more for the same service
3. some employees want to bankrupt site5 and are bashing the customers
4. the points are calculated in a wrong way
5. not enough point are allocated to each type of account

We, the customers, are not happy with your new policy.
Submitted By : Daniel
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 93.113.186.23 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 14th, 2012
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : Avoid site5 at all costs.

We asked them to roll our server back a few days. They rolled it back a year, and then claimed they could not restore it. They actually refuse to answer the phone, and when a ticket was opened to have them contact us, they said they will not discuss the issue over the phone, only through the ticketing system with the same techs who are unresponsive to our system being rolled back a year due to their error
Submitted By : adam
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 173.165.234.36 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : July 19th, 2012
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : In the first years, so far so good. response time was okay. Uptime mostly at 99%, there maybe some few downtimes but I understand that no providers can actually guarantee a 100%.

Now, recently for the past year...they started to crash and subject to php injections and more attacks have had happened to most of our resold accounts. Spamming is always an issue to them and will suspend your client's accounts without pre notice at all..and knowing that the MX is not even on their servers but in google apps.Yet they will still suspend.

They do respond on their ticket support promptly at most but whats the point if its unreliable.

even .htacess with chmod 644 can still be edited/hacked and will ask you to fix your own account and clean it up whereas its supposedly there job to ensure their servers are secured and clean. Otherwise, at least they should compensate for those incidents to any of their clients.

Bottomline, site5 is becoming unreliable guess too many clients already...their technical support is becoming incompetent and ignorant.

Submitted By : mike mayers
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 112.205.129.226 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 20th, 2011
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 4 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : I set up the website for a non-profit as a favour. Then I called back to site 5 and asked for my credit card info to be removed. I handed over the login information stuff to the non-profit and have not had access to it since. The non-profit no longer uses site 5 as they found the interface too difficult to use.
Then I found out that they charged my credit card for renewing the hosting although I specifically did not authorize this. I didn't authorize the charge and thought they had removed my credit card info.

Called to straighten it out but apparently SITE 5 does not have ANYONE in billing or management available by PHONE. You CANNOT speak to a manager or billing agent by PHONE.... EVER. The only contact billing has is by FORM LETTER on their website. They have phone support for SALEs, but NOT for billing and apparently there is ABSOLUTELY NO WAY TO SPEAK TO A MANAGER IN ANY DEPARTMENT BY PHONE. They gave me a MAILING ADDRESS to write to if I wanted to speak to a manager.

REALLY? No one in the entire company can call back a customer who has a billing issue? NO ONE!????

So they have an okay interface, okay hosting and poor tech support (who said that I could transfer a site when I could not, so it needed to be completely reconfigured!) AND THEY HAVE TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SUPPORT IF YOU HAVE ANY BILLING ISSUES AT ALL.
AND They keep credit card information on file forever, even when you ask that it be removed from their system.

DO NOT USE THIS HOST!
Submitted By : Shari
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.71.131.14 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 1st, 2011
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : They don't seem to be able to do the basic things correctly.
<p>Our email goes down every couple of months. They won't inform customers before they make major changes to the customer accounts. Their customer service reps are uninformed about Site5's real status. Site5's server status pages seem to be total fiction as I'll be seeing all green while my account is in disarray.
<p>These are all issues that quality host have had solved for years.
<p>We no longer work with the IT professional who recommended switching us to Site5.
Submitted By : Markus
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 76.118.30.137 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : July 19th, 2011
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Site5 started out as a great hosting company. However, lately they are the most unreliable hosting I have ever encountered! HTTP service is down frequently. They have a 99.9% up-time guarantee which is a complete lie! When you ask them about their guarantee and what they can do, they always push that question to the side and say "I'm sorry. We're working on it". Their customer service is OK until you ask them questions about there up-time and how it can be resolved. I am absolutely disappointed and switching to a new re-seller hosting company so that my clients and I can actually have reliable service.
Don't waist your time or money!!!
Submitted By : bwdesign
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 72.16.132.194 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : May 14th, 2011
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I have been with Site5 for a little over 4 months. In that time, their server that I'm hosted on has been down no less than 5 times for a total downtime equaling 20 or more hours of down time. I will be transferring to a more reliable hosting company
Submitted By : Paul
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.251.44.239 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : February 2nd, 2011
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : I used Site5 for reseller hosting, which I love first of all. Things were fine for the first several months of hosting.

The problems started when they offered to migrate my account from Dallas to their Chicago facility, which is where I live so, I said yes!

Well, long long story short, they migrated my account and update my DNS without telling me. They also did not tell me that I should start using a new link to access my WHM control panel, which is basically the reseller control panel. I used this control panel to click into my cpanel accounts for all of my hosted sites.

The problem in them not telling me what the new WHM control panel link was that I was continually making backups of my OLD site using the old link to the old site (which they kept running without telling me), thinking that I was making backups of my current site (on the new host).

I had subsequently strange problems where I would try to update the amount of available bandwidth and email accounts per hosting package and the changes never took place. This is because I was using the wrong (old) WHM! I brought these issues up to them and they failed to figure that out themselves! In the end, THEY ended up re-migrating my site and overwriting the good copy of my site. I completely lost about 60 hours worth of work because the backups I was making had been backups of the OLD site. ON TOP OF THIS, they were unable to restore a good copy of my site due to a programming glitch in their backup system!!! After all of their mistakes, the only thing they offered me was 1 free month of hosting. $26 in free hosting in return for 60 lost hours of changes to my site, which was all Wordpress based so I was making changes on the fly in the site admin.

So, in short, they failed MISERABLY in addressing my concerns that something was wrong and then they totally overwrote my site with an older version. I passed through the hands of about 6 support people, ALL of whom seemed to lack taking ownership of my problems. Their insurmountable incompetence shocks me and has left me searching currently for a new host as quickly as I can!

AT ALL COSTS, DO NOT HOST WITH SITE5!!!
Submitted By : Jason
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 76.16.130.119 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : September 18th, 2010
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : I've been with Site5 for just about ever, and it's been just ok. I originally signed up with them for the RoR support (when I joined, they were one of the only hosts who offered this), but the Rails setup they offer is basically useless, so I just use this account for hosting my personal website and a few friends'. I've never been impressed by the service, but in the past it's been fine enough.

The reason I am leaving Site5 now is because when one of my accounts was hacked and started sending spam messages, Site5 contacted me about an "emergency" and expected me to drop everything and diagnose and correct the problem on the spot. Since I was actually dealing with my own, legitimate emergency at the time, I flagged the email to address later and continued on with my day. Site5 began to spam and harass me so badly that even when I explained that I had no bandwidth to devote to this problem at that time (so you know, do what you need to do...), they continued to email me several times a day to threaten suspension of my account. UM -- they already suspended the offending sub-account, so I really don't see why this sort of bullying is justified.

Do yourself a favor, and go elsewhere.
Submitted By : mary
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 66.57.238.27 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : July 4th, 2010
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Awesome support. They usually reply 5-10 minutes after you submit your ticket with a logical answer. Can't ask for more...
Submitted By : Carlos
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 98.200.91.60 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : May 27th, 2010
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 4 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Site5 has been a solid experience overall for me. Developers probably want to look into more hardcore services, as setting up things as simple as RoR can be a chore, and their PHP support is limited for security reasons.

Still, for simply hosting WordPress blogs that get a small amount of traffic, it does the job.
Submitted By : Kyle
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 67.168.131.55 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : February 19th, 2010
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I was once tempted to host with them. I was then at Pair.com, and was running out of disk space. Site5 looked good, so I moved over.

But a few days later, Site5 sent me an email telling me they had shut down my site because of a rogue script. Pair had never worried about it, so I didn't know what the problem was. They didn't identify the script. I emailed for help -- and was ignored. And again -- and was ignored. Hours passed, as I pleaded in vain. Then I contacted Pair and arranged to move back. Then I sent a final message that I was leaving -- and the only response from Site5 was to close the support ticket. More contempt you could not have shown.

I invoked their guarantee of money back if you left within 60 days -- to their credit they paid up (if they hadn't, I would have got my credit card company to stomp on them, who in those days were good at that). Perhaps I just got a jerk at the weekend.

But I was very glad to get back to Pair.

Good points at Site5? The console was very easy to use, the disk space was enormous, and the general feel was very good.

But I never went back.
Submitted By : Roger
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 95.147.150.249 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : December 8th, 2009
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : I started with site5 in September 2007 and all was just great - friendly support, fast server, many features. I was in 'inanna' server. Then in 2008 all changed. There appeared too many outrages, the server could be unavailable for 10 or more minutes every day, support was too useless, always saying that all was fine and I'm a fool because I bother them... In 2009 it all became too bad, I collected lots of logs showing that the server was quite a lot unavailable from many counties (the delays of simple page loading were sometimes up to 40-60 seconds!). They were telling me that everything's fine and showed THEIR stats 99% uptime. Hah! I wonder if there was 80% uptime at that time! I wrote them that if they don't move my account to another server I'll leave their hosting. So they moved my account to their new 'rona' server. 'Rona' was fine - fast and almost without outrages, just perfect if compared to 'inanna'. It's OK even now, but I think it's only temporary. Maybe in a year it will be overloaded with accounts as well as 'inanna' and my fight will start all over again. So I calmed down then. But now I warmed up again. One of my users told me that anonymous FTP doesn't work anymore. Anonymous FTP was always working on my account (I've got a dedicated IP). I contacted support, they sent me useless 4-5 letters (stupid level 1 support). First they told me that I don't have a dedicated IP, that's why anonymous ftp doesn't work. I replied them with my IP address. Then they were trying to make me believe that all works, and after 2-3 useless replies I forced them to forward the issue to level 2 support (their sysadmin). That sysadmin told me that yes, they did disable anonymous ftp, because some of their clients (NOT ME) sometimes use anonymous FTP for flooding purposes and this reduces the performance of the server, and they decided to disable anonymous ftp for the whole server, and it is not impossible to enable ftp only for "good users". Then they suggested me to upgrade to dedicated server (starting from $145/mo!!!) to enable anonymous ftp in my account again, however, hey, it was mine before and I didn't brake any rules!

So, guys, if I were you, I'd look for another hosting with better moral principles and not-so-incompetent support. Unfortunately I've already paid for another 2 years before this ftp thing occurred, otherwise I'd have left without much regret... At the same time, I've signed up with a promo offer - 165 GB space, dedicated IP and unlimited domains/mysql databases and many stuff just for $5/mo - it's a fine price for this set of features, but now they sell the same for $7-$11 and you don't be a fool to buy it! I bet there are companies who will make you a lot more happier for this money!
Submitted By : tol
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 95.27.123.164 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : April 26th, 2009
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : I have mixed reviews about Site5. I signed up for them because they offer cheap hosting service with a good admin tool and 27/7 support. Sounds pretty good, right? Well, I sort of think of this as buying a cheap car which runs well, but only holds a half gallon of gas. It's functional, but you will have many inconveniences.

I strongly do NOT recommend this service for developers. Web programming is tough, and Site5 will add more hurdles to your venture. They have 24/7 support, which is good. However, you will need this support a lot. And yes, I mean a LOT! I've contacted them for many reasons - things not working, their admin tool not working the way it's supposed to, password mixups, affiliate program problems, IP address getting blocked every day. Yes, it's problem heavy... even things you wouldn't expect to break. For example, they prepared my server space. I immediately had problems becuase they didn't set a variable. It took me about an hour of talking with them to get it fixed... something that shouldn't have been a problem in the first place. They are usually quick to fix the problems they do have. Sometimes I emailed them about problems and I had to bug them for two or three weeks before they looked into it. That made me angry. For some reason, some Site5 accounts only worked with certain FTP clients. I don't know why. I created a site for a client and, after speaking with Site5 staff, learned that I could only access it through FileZilla, not WinSCP.

However, for clients, the service is good! All the client wants is a site that works, shows stats, has some emails that they can easily manage, and is cheap. This gives them all that. The client should like the 24/7 service as well. The developer has to go through a lot of problems to get the site working properly, but the client just deals with the site after the fact. Therefore, it's good for them.

I would recommend this service only to clients, not other developers.

Also, there's something I don't understand. Site5 was titled such because they offered $5 / month hosting, correct? At least this is the impression I got out of it. Well, it used to be the case. It doesn't seem like you can get this good of a deal any more. It seems like their lowest possible rate now, without discounts, is about $7.50 / month.

Again, having Site5 is like having a good car with half a tank of gas. You'll need to fill up all the time. Even small trips to the store can be cumbersome. You'll need to contact support for problems that shouldn't have occurred in the first place, and there are a bunch of inconveneiences, such as a not-so-intuitive interface which requires the memorization of many passwords in order to operate to its full potential. On another note, their site in general is not as user-friendly as it should be. They seem to move elements frequently and arrange their interface in a strange way. Also, they tend to use an overabundance of DHTML, which causes much cross-browser incompatability and, in my opinion, makes the interface more difficult to use.

Hope my observations help! Good luck!
Submitted By : Multimediocrity
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 74.34.205.233 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 9th, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : I'll give you MY Site5 review...

My company serves stock market data to a small number of users across the world. We joined up with Site5 because they represented themselves as happy to hold large amounts of data for sparsely-used sites, like ours (google: The Plan To End All Plans).

Too bad it's all a lie.

We established our site, serving our users happily until we got to about HALF our available allocation, then Site5 decided that they never really intended for anyone to actually USE their allocated space. They made up outrageous claims about our inode usage and CPU usage, which they then retracted when challenged on the facts, and ultimately dumped our site with 48 hours notice - much too short a time to actually retrieve our data!

In addition to this, we had numerous occasions where Site5 had just removed our data and we had to ask for it back. At one point they even moved us to a different physical host without telling us!

AVOID AT ALL COSTS - THEY LIE LIE LIE.

Neil Brennan
Submitted By : nello
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 60.242.40.69 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 6th, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 4 out of 5
Reliability : 4 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I\'m currently in the process of moving to another host.

The reason I signed up for Site5 hosting was great price for all the features my sites required.
I, however, will not continue to use their services because I want to try my luck elswhere and see if I can get less downtimes, less MySQL breakdowns and more savvy tech support.

The other my MySQL database got corrupted for no apparent reason, and I asked the support for help. Their \"help\" consisted in clicking the \"repair\" option (which I already tried, and didn\'t work) and offering a month old back-up which would wipe out the very database I was trying to fix. In the end I fixed it myself because luckily I know a thing or two about \"teh internets\", but most users need and deserve a better tech support.
Submitted By : Nela
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 78.2.13.85 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 11th, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : I have been with Site5 for probably 4 years now (since around 2004). Originally, their response times to support tickets was literally in the minutes - almost always around 15 minutes or so. For probably at least since 2006 there has been a SHARP decline in support response times. It is now COMMON not to receive a reply for AT LEAST 6 HOURS. And I do say \"COMMON\". I have recently been with clients on the phone discussing their websites when the server crashed (two times in the same two week period). It was very disappointing. Of course, servers do go down from time to time. We are not complaining about that. But it seemed to be the icing on the cake, the fact that it went down twice in a row for these two clients in such a short span, while I was with them on the phone. I have to say, I don\'t think I have ever submitted a comment like this anyone on the internet, certainly not in the last several years. But I\'m really getting very disappointed in Site5, particularly because of their terrible response times. I mean terrible. For Site5 to improve their image, they need to desperately work on reducing their support response times.
Submitted By : Dan
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 99.245.243.211 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : October 23rd, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : I have been with site5 for the past 3 years. During the last 2.5 years they offered a very stable shared server environment plus the tech support was very responsive.

In the last 6 months things have started to go wrong which include the following.

1. Downtime on the server or slow site load times. Tech support advise this was due to high server loads and they would resove the issue. That was 3 weeks ago and i am still gettings slow response times or time outs on the site. I suspect over selling on the server which is impacting the servers performance which may explain the 90% CPU spikes when i view the service status.

2. Tech support take for ever to respond it can take from 12 hours to 2 days to respond. When they do respond you get the usual standard response \"run a trace route\" and they seem to ignore the fact that the servers CPU / memory resources are getting hammered.

Site5 was good but now they are getting worse and worse. Its time to look for another host who take care of there customers.
Submitted By : jimmy
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 86.148.235.122 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : July 3rd, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I've been with Site5.com for eight years, and used to be extremely happy (fast tech support response, high reliability, attentive owners). For the last three years, however, it's been going downhill, especially since it was moved to/sold to/bought by to ThePlanet. Tech support response times that used to be in minutes is now in the high hours, and even into days, before I get anything back. They have a "General Feedback, Comments, and Suggestions" forum where we can offer opinions on their hosting, but only the poster and Site5 can read it so you can't see other people's complaints.

In November of 2006 my SSH access stopped working. I spend thirty hours trying to get some response from tech support: no dice. Finally I emailed every person on the management team with my problem, and the issue was quickly resolved. They said they were hiring new tech support people to reduce wait times, but thirty hours is absurd.

22 hours ago I got a notice from them that one of my accounts has too many files, and unless it is fixed within 72 hours it would be suspended. I immediately tried to logon and investigate, but the account is already suspended and the website is down, which means I can't do anything to address their concerns. Repeated queries to their tech support (they do email and web tickets, but no phone tech support) have been ignored. I tried the tech support chat link, but nobody answers. There are now only three people on the Management Team list (none of the original owners); trying them has gotten me nowhwere.

So, I've got no access, no response, no sign that there's anybody home, and no certainty of a solution. Looks like it's time to jump ship.
Submitted By : Daniel
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 66.30.251.99 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : May 29th, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : Support is growing progressively worse. Multiple server outages every day. Email down at least twice each month. My suggestion - Find another host.
Submitted By : wpites
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 66.101.59.62 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : April 19th, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : All of my sites hosted on this server are down lately at least a couple times a week. These guys are turning into an unrelaiable web host.
Submitted By : Julianna
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 207.5.237.79 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : April 3rd, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Yesterday was my 1st year anniversary of hosting with Site5, it was certainly a happy one. After a bumpy ride with some other hosts I was referred to Site5 by a friend. So far my experience with Site5 has been excellent and beyond my expectations.

Site5's support staff is extremely helpful and I have not experienced any noticeable downtime in the past year.
Submitted By : justrenewed
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 203.161.100.151 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : December 3rd, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 4 out of 5
Reliability : 4 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : In all fairness, I must say that lately I have been happy with the service of Site5, so I am reconsidering my previous post. (Unfortunately, the only time people post is when they have a complaint.) I was unhappy at the time. Eventually, the problem was resolved, and my experience with site5 hosting has been good ever since.
Submitted By : Davide Andrea
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 207.189.193.143 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 29th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : I have 5 sites being hosted with site 5 using there domain pointer feature. First I wold like to say that their uptime has been really good for me.

Their customer service is some of the worst I have ever seen. I have been hosting a couple Ruby on Rails apps with them and there have been multiple issues in which I have needed support (20plus). Their response time to my questions is at the very soonest 12 hours and usually around 16 - 24 hours. When they do respond, it is usually with another question of insufficient response. So, it going back and forth with them at that rate takes forever to resolve an issue.

If your site goes down with something more than just the norm, I would expect at least 2 days before it gets fixed and a week is what I'm used to.

So overall, the hosting has been good, the customer service horrible. It's up to you weather you want to host with them or not, but you better be patient if you do.
Submitted By : James
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 74.136.153.144 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 5th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : I own a small vBulletin forum dedicated to my town. Averages about 100 posts a day. The site just celebrated its third anniversary and I have been with Site5 since the beginning. One of the reasons I picked them was they run their own support forum on vB.

Site5 is killing me. As my site grew, I learned that you cannot run a vB forum on the resources they allot, notwithstanding I told their salespeople what I needed hosted. I'm constantly apologizing to my members about the database errors they receive, which are generated by exceeding the 15-connection MySQL limit. The site has been down for hours today because the server (Metis) is flat on its a$$.

It goes without saying that I cannot afford a dedicated server for my hobby, which generates no revenue. I don't think I should need to, either.

If I needed a cheap webhost for a small site then I might recommend Site5. Unfortunately, since you never can tell what your needs will be, I'd stay away.

Probably heading to HostGator or ASO by the weekend.
Submitted By : Mike
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.89.135.98 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : October 20th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I moved all my sites to Site5: great pricing, friendly user interface, excellent support and decent uptime. Now, the uptime has gone down the tubes (down for hour at a time, every few months) and support is pretty much gone. Today my main sites have been down, and, after 12 hours, I still can't get anyone to respond (no phone support).
D'de
Submitted By : Davide Andrea
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 207.189.196.107 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : July 14th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I have been with Site5 hosting for about 3 years now, on one of the old plans (Horsepower I believe) with 3Gb space and seemingly unlimited bandwidth. I host two large-ish websites (one of which receives thousands of unique hits a day) and several subdomains.

Despite being dugg on a couple of occasions and being featured in several high-traffic CSS design galleries, I've experienced maybe a couple of hours downtime tops - and that was through at least one server move and several upgrades. For 3 years, that's an impeccable uptime record in my opinion. I see hosts who have that each week.

I've never had a problem with billing and my account gets renewed yearly without problem or additional charges.

Support is usually great, my only complain being that the original average support response time of 14 minutes is now more like 3-4 hours. This is to be expected with the kind of growth they've experienced, however.

Site5 are a good host, and I've recommended them to several people who now also use them and are impressed with their uptime and website speeds. I had no hesitation in recommending Site5 to my boss for one of our clients through work. Will continue to use Site5 for as long as physically possible.
Submitted By : Jem
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 88.110.192.39 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : July 13th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Overall summary:
An outstanding set of features for a very low price. Good support and user forum. Not recommended for large or mission-critical sites though, due to poor reliability and a limited total number of files that can be hosted.

Features and Value
For $5/month you get more features than most people will ever need - currently 110 gigabytes of disk space, 5 terabits/month of bandwidth, 110 domain pointers and unlimited mail accounts, mySQL databases etc. Admittedly, you have to sign up for 24 months to get that price, but if you leave early they promptly refund the unused portion.

This includes features that are sometimes missing or cost extra at other hosts, such as your own IP address, SSH access, shared SSL, mailman "discussion" mailing lists, Ruby on Rails, anti-virus scanning and a user forum. They also offer more expensive "true multisite" accounts, a bit like reseller accounts with their own control panels. They currently advertise a "free website time machine" call Flashback but I believe it has been withdrawn, so their advertising is not really honest here.

They have their own control panel, but it's just a "skin" over cPanel with all the same features (and a few extra bugs, such as a file manager that added extra characters to the end of files and set incorrect file permissions!). One unusual trick though is that it can access webmail via the usual http or https ports (80 and 443) instead of the strange port cPanel uses (2095), that sometimes gets blocked by corporate firewalls.

Support and Reliability
Their support staff are generally helpful and unusually knowledgeable - probably the best of any hosting company I've experienced so far. Response times are not always quick, especially at weekends, but the overall time to solve a problem is good because they don't waste time asking stupid questions. Their user forum is also very useful, although marred by heavy-handed moderation of anything vaguely critical. The set of icons that can be used to label discussion threads have had all unhappy faces removed - how pathetic! There's an unusually comprehensive wiki-style user manual.

Unfortunately, they're not very good at monitoring and maintaining their servers. Their web site claims "ultra-low number of sites per server", "our customers love the extra speed they get" and "99.9% uptime guaranteed" but my own experience over many months and two different servers was that pages would often load slowly or not at all, and 99.9% uptime was never achieved. This was particularly frustrating when trying to access webmail, which could be impossible to reach for a whole day. They often seemed to be unaware of these problems and it was very hard to get anyone to acknowledge or address them, even when shown evidence from monitoring logs. Ultimately taking care of servers is what webhosting is all about and these problems were one of the main reasons I left.

Site5 don't give you any help when migrating, and in fact I had to raise several tickets to get misconfigurations of my account corrected before everything would work. They don't even help when migrating between two of their own servers - the recommended way is to sign up for a new account, download all your files, upload them to the new server, configure them, change all your nameserver settings, wait for the DNS propagation then terminate the old account when everything is working. It's not difficult but it takes several days, during which your sites are offline for a while. Plus the time for the inevitable tickets to be resolved.

Restrictions
Another reason I left was their "30,000 file" limit. 30,000 may sound like an awful lot of files, but it's surprisingly easy to exceed if you install some standard applications like phpBB or Gallery, each of which can quietly add many thousands of files to your site (even when empty). I only have half a dozen small "community" sites with a couple of forums, one photo gallery and a shopping cart, but I was way over the limit without realising. I was still over the limit even after trimming them down by removing all unused language packs and templates. This limit also means it's effectively impossible to use some of your web space for offsite file storage (e.g. for incremental backups or for accessing files away from home). I've discovered that many cheaper hosting companies have limits like this, possibly because large numbers of files cause backups to fail, and it's definitely a significant "gotcha" to watch out for.

There are other usage restrictions (e.g. a maximum of 15 concurrent MySQL connections, 50 simultaneous Apache connections or 200 mail messages per hour) that could be a problem for popular sites. Don't expect to get dedicated server performance for a fraction of the price!
Submitted By : philmck
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 82.43.96.2 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : April 28th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : Just to let you know Site5 is not getting any better. They've recently announced a deal merging with The Planet in some way, maybe that will help. But the negative comments below are really an eye opener. I signed up with them in December 2006 and only wish I'd seen these before signing a two year contract!

I do think they are trying. Their customer service is responsive, just not helpful. They are also prone to acting without notifying customers of what they have done. They do let customers communicate with one another, but the complaint below that Steven Byrd closes threads and deletes postings is spot on. They don't seem to understand how to treat customers well.

Stay away.
Submitted By : Eric
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 86.33.232.42 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : March 30th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : I've been at site5 for more then 2 years and never experienced any major problems.
The helpdesk is great, quick and friendly. Site5 also has a nice messageboard where other people (but also the staff) can help you with minor things. It's a nice feature and I love the whole 'community environment'.
One time there was a hard disk failure and I couldn't upload anything to my site. The helpdesk quickly moved all the sites to another disk and my site was up in no time.
The pricing is great, but only if you pay 6, 12 or 24 months in advance. That's the rason I gave pricing a 4/5.
Submitted By : moonslasher
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 194.109.244.250 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 5th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I started to build web sites in 1997. Over the years I have hosted web sites in more than a few web hosting companies. Of all the web hosting companies I have used, Site5 certainly is the best. Another host company that is also good is TotalChoiceHosting. Both Site5 and TCH have very good server and connection speed, and both companies provide excellent customer services. I am a demanding customer and I contacted customer services quite frequently. It is unrealistic to ask for immediate response, but Site5 usually responded to my request within 15 minutes. What make Site5 better than TCH is the price and feature. Site5 provides SSH access which enable you to use SFTP. We all know that FTP is not secure and SFTP is a very secure protocol. This feature along beat out most of the hosting company in the market.

I highly recommend Site5 for anybody who wants a reliable, fast, and secure web hosting provider. If you don't care about the security issue of using FTP, then TCH is a good choice too.
Submitted By : Daniel
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 156.56.92.231 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 1st, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : I agree with most of the comments including the down times or slow servers.
Somehow, their support is not fast as we get replies after 10 hours. Most of the times the support people reply to your questions with "questions" to gain time even though your requests are clear. I even got rude answers from some of them (the support person's name is Beau...), fortunately that was during the last month of our subscription.

There is no coordination between the sales people and the support; I had to fight my way to get some things to be done by the support which was promised by the sales people.

The price is attractive. They gave additional two months for moving to their servers.

Looking at the price and the documentation which is jealously kept in a closet somewhere and the KB which does not come with freedom of speech, but is dictatorial, I would say that SITE5 is a concept which I could live without.
Submitted By : Lyes
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 218.111.44.219 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : September 27th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : Less than 1 month
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : went through checkout process. received an email from them welcoming me to the service. the email listed features of the site, but no instructions other than to log on. i logged on successfully to the account management area using my email and password, but i wasn't able to do anything from the "dashboard" page. so i emailed tech support for help and their response was "your account is not fully setup, you will receive another email when it is". so i wait a couple days and i still can't access any account management functions, and i send another email to support. finally, six days after my welcome email, i receive a reply to my fifth email stating my order was rejected because my address info was wrong... well, why was my credit card authorized then? also, why did i receive a welcome email and an order confirmation and why did i did i go through so many support reps before discovering this?

????
Submitted By : disappointed
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 66.90.118.44 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : August 15th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : The 2nd review on this page is awesome and totally spot on. Site5 was great before they spent their time rebuilding their lives in Ruby on Rails and posting in their blogs 24/7 and aggregating now playing lists from last.fm.

Here's my story: My site ran perfectly fine until a mass upgrade to PHP 4.4.3. Afterwards, my site was blacklisted by their datacenter and I was not notified. Customer service took 4 hours to reply before the blacklist was removed and said I should have received a notification about the block beforehand. Funny thing is, immediately after I received a notification that my site was using too many resources and everything was shut down. Customer service has been extremely unresponsive from here on out, and I have two systems administrators trying to work with me in two tickets (you think they would have merged them by now as they started out about two completely different things...)

Verdict: Awesome when I started; Horrible now. Do not recommend.
Submitted By : Chris
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 204.118.72.41 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : July 27th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : I've just switched away from Site5 as it's been a bad experience for the past two months. The site, which is tiny, has been slow to load (as has the webmail). The site has also been down, only temporarily but quite frequently lately.

Worst of all is the lost emails. The emails we receive are submissions for publication, so to lose emails is drastically bad form. We must have had at least 4 reported lost emails and we suspect far more. Very poor.
Submitted By : Gavin
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 203.173.45.34 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : July 10th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : I was all set to chronicle my adventures with Site5's rapidly declining services, but after reading all the existing reviews, I find that I have little to add which has not been said already.

Site5 was great for about a year and a half. There was some occasional downtime, but nothing severe, and support tickets were always answered by someone who actually knew what they were doing.

Then along came Rails, and the Site5 staff was so greatly enamored with it that they apparently lost all interest in doing anything anybody actually cared about. Suddenly every single piece of software they used had to be re-written as a Rails application for no apparent reason whatsoever, and the entire administrative staff decided that they didn't feel like doing anything except post in their exciting new Rails-based blogs about how excited they were about Rails. A tiered tech support system was introduced, and instead of getting your questions answered by an administrator who knew what they were doing, you instead were directed to some underpaid teenager who neither understood nor answered your question. Now I know better than to expect genius level software engineers to field tech support questions for a budget-end hosting company, but when you've got questions like "Why haven't I gotten any email for two weeks?" or "Why has my server been down for a month?", I expect something more in response than "Go read our engineering blog and ask billing for a refund."

So what other options do you have with Site5? Well, you can post your problems and concerns on their support forums, but then Steven Byrd (who is the only Site5 staff member who regularly reads their forums these days, more than likely due to the fact that he has some genetic defect which prevents him from going outdoors and doing anything else) will either lock your thread or delete your post entirely if it makes Site5 look bad in any way. Their defense for this behavior is invariably something along the lines of "This is not a support forum and you need to file a ticket", but this obviously means very little to those of us whose dissatisfaction with the efficacy of their ticketing system prompted us to post in the first place.

Their latest set of marketing jargon laden hosting plans just confirms that Site5 is no longer interested in attracting anyone but teenaged bloggers. Compare what they offer resellers to what any reputable VPS provider would give you for the same price (if not less), and Site5 is so far behind it's not even funny anymore. I was losing clients left and right since (surprise, surprise) most people don't like losing all their email to general incompetence or having their sites go down for weeks at a time with no explanation in sight, so I left. If they keep up the trend, they'll have a hard time keeping even the most irrelevant blogger kiddie happy with the garbage they're shilling. I thought ProHosters went down the tubes quickly, but Site5 has shown me the light.
Submitted By : Kay Eichai
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 71.135.47.25 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : June 16th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : Where do I begin?

Unbelievable how poor this company is. I have been with them about two years, had a few minor issues at first but they the refunds at me to make me happy. Then 6 months ago we started having a lot of down time. They have changed their web site 4 times since I have been with them, and change their hosting packages names and prices more... they sure keep you guessing.

Here is the problem --

I had a reseller account and upgraded to another new package they were offering about 6 months ago. I had to create a new account and let the transfer my 10 web sites. This took several days... with many errors along the way. After much frustration, I was given 3 free months of hosting for the trouble. Now let me say, if you have an easy question or problem, you can usually get quick response via email, your only option for support.

Because of all the problems getting my sites transferred, I never told them that in my admin area, I still had the old account listed which caused me to toggle each time I logged in. So this week I decided it was time to bring this to their attention to have the old account removed from my admin area.

I promptly received an email from support saying "yes the old account should have been removed, but never was, and that momentarily it would be removed" Minutes later, I no longer existed on the Internet. With one key stroke my 10 web sites were gone.

I started contacting support via email as my only option. I was ticket number 74... so I was in for a wait. I contacted Live Support via Chat, but they would not help because they were for "New Sales" only. I tried their web site forums which is closely monitored. But because it is a happy place only, I was quickly banned for posting my problems. I was furious... about three hours go by and I get a response.. we are looking into your problem.... well 24 hours later, 25 emails later, No one will admit that my account was deleted. They restored the data from the back up files they had from 37 days earlier. But they do back ups each night.. but I was told there was a problem... so I had no recent data. Further more they could not get my main web site running because the main db file was not recoverable. I'm dead in the water. My webmaster most recent back up was two weeks old... we had no web site and needed to recover fast...

I demanded someone call. Nothing. I demanded to know what happened, but they ignored that question each time. After 36 hours I get an email from the President of operations saying, "you asked us to delete your account so we did, then you asked us to restore it so we did, but some of your data is now lost".. Mad as He11 that he accused me of wanting my account deleted. I sent him the email from support that quoted them as saying, "we will delete your old reseller account but your main account will be left intact". I forwarded the email and noted the mistake had cost me nearly $10,000 in 24 hours.

Do you know what the remedy was??? Yes, 3 free months of hosting and whoops sorry, but we are not responsible for data back ups!

Even though this is advertised on their site!

SITE5 ... GO TO HE11!
Submitted By : MilitaryLink
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.170.31.30 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : April 17th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : My complaints on Site5 center around their method of resolving problems. They only use e-mail and then refuse to include your questions or comments in their reply. This makes it impossible to actually track and resolve an issue.

I'm on a server that has been down WAY too much lately. After several attempts at resolving the issue without success, I asked to be transferred to a different server. Rather than answer my request, they simply reply that they're working on the problem. I sent another e-mail restating my request and asking additional questions. Same answer - we're working on it. They totally ignore the additional questions.

They also have serious issues with blacklisting. I'm finding my server is frequently black listed making reliable e-mail impossible.

I'm here because I AM going to be on a different server. If Site5 refuses to transfer within their group, they're not the only provider out there. Either they know that all of their servers are equally bad, or they have no interest in keeping a customer.
Submitted By : GaryM
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.14.194.99 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : April 1st, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 4 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Ok, sometimes they experience some problems not related to bandwith.
Bandwith is great, uptime is outstanding.

Sometimes (3 times in a year) I experienced slow server/SQL queries. I wrote an e-mail to the technical support and in 30 minutes they solved the problems (I think they just shut down un-optimized crazy scripts). And... that's it! Everything works fine then. What's strange is that I feel like *I* have to care about the quality of the service because they really don't, they just wait you to write them for this kind of problems. BTW when I had other smaller problems, they solved them in no more than 10 minutes.
Submitted By : Max
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 82.58.113.218 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 7th, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : Never had any unscheduled downtime, my experience with support has been outstanding (and quick), and the forums are a great resource.
Submitted By : e420
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 130.39.77.90 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 7th, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I started hosting with Site5 over 4 years ago. In the beginning, things were great!

However, over the last six months, their focus has been on getting more customers and releasing buggy software. Server loads and email delays are a constant problem now. I've already moved most my accounts else where and would not recommend using Site 5 if you really depend on your site to survive.
Submitted By : MrGuy
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.104.184.196 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 15th, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I'm on a site5 server at Liquidweb. Outages are very rare and support has been pretty good but rarely needed. Anytime they do a scheduled maintenance an email is sent ahead of time for notification. Pricing is really great for what they offer.
Submitted By : AJ
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.40.234.162 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : October 29th, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Bottom line is Site5 is growing faster than they can handle. Their current emphasis is on marketing and creating upgrades that are buggy.

Billing department is more than California laid back and same unresolved issues over and over - high server loads, email problems, stats not being updated.
Submitted By : nh
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.50.45.3 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : October 27th, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 4 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Other than email being down for an hour once or twice in the last 6 months I have had no problem whatsoever.
Submitted By : jganders
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 69.104.144.153 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : September 21st, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I have been a customer of Site5 since the end of June 2005. My plan (Horsepower) includes 3GB disk space and 50GB bandwidth (although it appears as if my bandwidth is not being metered). I can host a total of 6 domains from 1 account (1 main plus 5 pointers). If I had my decision to make all over again, I would not choose Site5 again, however some people may find them to be suitable for their needs.

I believe their strengths are:
+ good pricing (for space/bandwidth)
+ quick response from support staff
+ fairly full featured

I believe their weaknesses are:
- many inexperienced support staff (not all are inexperienced)
- unable to resolve some issue (see below)
- Reliability (see below)

Most of my complaints fall under two categories. One is with their inability to keep my IP address off of SPAM blacklists. Other customers sharing the same IP as me send out SPAM, then large companies like AOL (and other smaller companies too) will block the IP address. They normally get the blacklisting resolved within a day (or two), but it happens frequently. So if you want to be able to reliably send email, you may not want to use Site5. I should note that they claim repeatedly that they are working on a permanent fix to this problem, but who knows when or if that will happen.

The other problem I've had deals with the tech staff's generally inexperience with SSL certificates. In theory, we should be able to use the shared SSL certificates for IMAP & SMTP access. And indeed I can, except they haven't installed the certificate correctly, so you have to manually download and install the root certificate (a Comodo cert), so that your MUA doesn't yell at you everytime that the certificate is signed by an unknown authority. This shouldn't be necessary. I have gone around and around with their support staff on this issue, before I finally gave up, and manually installed the Comodo cert. They claim that it is installed correctly, and this is the way it has always worked... but this is NOT true, since it WAS correctly installed for the first 2 months I was a customer. When they did some upgrading, they got it all out of whack, and they are unable to get it fixed now.

I've had several other support issues, that are normally resolved fairly quickly, but often you have to have an email exchange 3 or 4 times before they get it right, which is more time than I'd like to spend to have them get things right. For example, they keep screwing up my SSH access. With enough complaints, they get it restored... but I grow tired of having to open tickets with them. All these issues lead to me giving them a 3 for Reliability. If you consider Reliability to only pertain to "uptime", then I'd give them a 4, or maybe a 5.

I'd say if you are primarily looking for a web hosting, and you aren't too concerned with email, then Site5 may be a good value for you. Otherwise, I'd keep looking. My 2nd choice was HostGator, which I will look into again after my Site5 contract is expired. My main concern with HostGator is that I don't think they offer shell access, which is a major plus for my needs.
Submitted By : Ryan
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.33.67.103 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : January 5th, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : Less than 1 month
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : tI do not if this site was going to be good because I never received enough support to set it up. Never sent the password to my email address, called them up 4 times, emailed them once and they replied with 2 automated responses that didn't help me out. I do not know if other people are just posting here to suck up but a site can't start off on this bad off a foot. I just called them to retrieve a refund and still no one has answered. College students have ran my site better
Submitted By : fortlynx
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : October 6th, 2004
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 4 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : I am satisfied with Site5s customer service and tech support. The features are easy to use i.e. cpanel. I dont mind paying the extra for the service and support that I have received. I have sent in support tickets that were answered in less then one hour. Great job Site5.
Submitted By : Bill
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : July 26th, 2004
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : Overall an excellent host. A little pricey, but worth every penny.
Submitted By : Dan
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 3rd, 2003
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 4 out of 5
Reliability : 4 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : some downtime, but better then other hosts that i have dealt with. probably a better risk then many.
Submitted By :
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury - Homepage
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : October 1st, 2003
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 4 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Was a good host for me. Ran into some bandwidth issues and other billing issues- they were nice enough to refund some money and to see my side of the disagreement.
Submitted By :
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury - Homepage
Add new response or edit existing response


Site5 Site Screenshot - http://www.site5.com/

 

* This site uses Thumbshots previews


Newest Reviews

  • Host 1 Plus
  • 247-host
  • Holbi Hosting
  • Go Daddy
  • HostDime
  • Citymax
  • 1and1
  • 101sitehosting
  • WebHosting UK
  • PolurNET Webhosting
  • ValcatoHosting
  • DreamHost
  • Blurstorm
  • AccuWebHosting
  • JodiHost





  •  
     


    © Web Hosting Jury
    *All reviews and content are the property of Web Hosting Jury and may not be copied without prior written consent. All violations will be prosecuted to the full extent of the law.
    All reviews on this website are the opinion or experience of the respective review writer. By publishing these reviews on our site we do not agree or have the same opinion as the writer of the review.
    Please send all comments and suggestions to webmaster@webhostingjury.com
    Site5 2.8 out of 5 based on 53 user reviews.