Over 7000 Hosting User Reviews

Let your voice be heard - submit a review
Read and give your reviews and
verdicts on web hosting companies
from around the world
Hot Hosting Deals!!
iPage Special Offer
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Free Domain & Setup
$1.99/month
- More Info
Fatcow Price Cut!
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Free Domain & Setup
$3.15/month
- More Info
Green Geeks Host Green!
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Free Domain & Setup
$4.95/month
- More Info
HostGator Editors Choice!
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- 25% Off Coupon
$3.96/month
More Info
Arvixe
- Unlimited Diskspace
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- Use WHJ for 20% off
$4.00/month
More Info
Bluehost
- Best Business Host
- Unlimited Bandwidth
- 99.9% Uptime
$3.95/month
More Info






Site Design by


 

Web Hosting Reviews

midPhase Reviews
http://www.midphase.com



There are 43 midPhase user reviews

Average Jury Ratings & Reviews of midPhase

       
3.0/5
2.3/5
2.0/52.0/5
Reliability
Support
Pricing
Overall

Below are some verdicts that users of our site have given to midPhase . If you would like to submit your verdict about midPhase please use our submit page to review midPhase.

Owner of midPhase ?
If so click here

Date Submitted : November 19th, 2012
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : They lied about it being easy to switch and that you can call and ask for help. They wouldn't help me transfer the files or help point or even switch my domain to them. They said I MUST do everything or else them ANSWERING a question is called web development. I am appalled and I am glad that they have proven their inability to give great customer service and I am leaving before I lose my money. I am looking at webs.com and maybe I will stay with netfirms as expensive as they are, atleast I was able to do MY OWN website and I didn't even need to call and ask where do I start. People DO NOT use MidPhase unless you enjoy stress, losing hair and having ulcers/stomach aches. DO NOT USE MIDPHASE.COM
Submitted By : Kim W.
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 99.73.114.107 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : June 6th, 2011
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : My websites have been down for a day or so now. They say they are restoring them. Funny - the Midphase site seems to work fine. If you're just starting a new web site - you should think about passing on midphase.com If they can't even have your site back up and running after a few hour - pleaz - unless you don't use your site for business.
Submitted By : samuel Sorensen
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.5.202.38 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : February 9th, 2011
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : The service has been spotty for a couple of years. Most of the time it comes back up after a few hours of being down.

Billing is also a problem.
I did cancel service via email had my domain released and transferred no problem.

They kept sending me overdue noticed every though I did cancel and transfer the domain.

They said they did not recognize the cancellation in billing because it was not done through their hidden cancellation website.

Once I got the notice I did as they asked and submitted another cancel to Midphase.

Since then they insist on billing me for the time between the expiration and the time they recognized the cancellation!

I copied and pasted emails from UK2 group showing it's canceled but they just keep asking for more money.

Does this sound like a company that deserves your business?

Submitted By : john
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 72.130.11.8 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : February 4th, 2011
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : This review is simple: if you have a business website AVOID MIDPHASE.COM. My site goes down all the time, 1-2 per week. They offer a 30 day $$ back guarantee but you won't find out they suck until after 30 days. Avoid midphase.com
Submitted By : Christopher
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.42.75.236 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : February 20th, 2010
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Since MidPhase / AN Hosting was sold to the UK2 group, service has sucked eggs.

I just spent another full day of my life getting put off by support. Yeah. I have time to spare, so what difference does it make???

Yesterday, around 3am, they moved my account to another server. I was unaware that they were going to do this. When I checked my sites, I found that they had been down for 10 hours. I notified MidPhase and 1 of the two live sites I had came online about 4 hours later.

The one that came back online - did so with a copy that was 3 freakin' months old! None of my passwords have worked all day. No CPanel, no FTP, No email - nada.

The second of the two sites I had live with them STILL isn't online - 24 hours after they decided to move my account.

They gave me NO notification that this was to take place. They messed it up and then made ME pay for it.

Needless to say - I've had it with MidPhase & their UK2 Group BS. I've had several problems with them over the last couple of years, but nothing as incompetent & inconsiderate as this.

People.... do NOT spend your money with Midphase, AN Hosting, or any company even remotely associated with them. You WILL be sorry. They couldn't care less about you or your piddly websites. Trust me on this one.

Now I get to wait and see if I can - a) Get access to my freakin' account. b) Retrieve my email c) Get my files off of their server d)Get a refund - since I *just* paid them for another year & e) TRANSFER MY DOMAIN THE HELL AWAY FROM MIDPHASE / ANHOSTING.

But hey, go ahead. Give it a shot if you have a boatload of time to waste, waiting for support emails that take many, many hours to come.

If you do, and you like it? Write me. I have a bridge in Florida to sell you. You'll like that too.

MidPhase sucks. Didn't used to, but it sure does now.

I bet they make me pay for this, but oh effin' well. I've been paying for signing up with them for a long time now. What's the difference?
Submitted By : NetPotion
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.179.142.186 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : April 2nd, 2009
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : Midphase is, without a shadow of a doubt, the WORST experience I have had with any online vendor.

If you have any problems with your site, and I have absolutely no doubt that you will, you will receive the most unprofessional and, dare I say, incompetent support that can possibly be provided.

I could write a manifesto about their terrible service...but, suffice it to say that my business was brought to a complete halt for almost two full months. Responses received from their support were wildly inconsistent from one day to the next. Not only did they completely fail to diagnose any problems correctly, they flat-out lied time and time again about actions that they had taken.

If you want to build any sort of business online, you are setting yourself up for an early and unexpected failure if you do business with Midphase.

They are absolutely terrible across the board. Period.
Submitted By : Josh
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 71.197.224.84 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 9th, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : I totally agree with the above reviews suggesting that you stay away from this host. The problem isn't only their uptime (which isn't even close to the 99.9% they claim) but that their customer service doesn't take problems seriously when you call with a problem. The only thing they good at is giving you a free month's credit when you complain enough about how your site is down . . . which you'll be doing often if you choose MidPhase as your host. Do yourself a favor and go with some one else.
Submitted By : Wes
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 96.233.190.39 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 3rd, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : My experience this weekend was so bad I\'m finally looking for a new hosting service. It\'s Monday and I\'ve been down since Friday. Each time I call they say something else. It turns out it was an unannounced migration to their new server location in Seattle. The DNS was not changed until early this morning. The sites don\'t work yet on the new server. Faxes to management, which promised a \"seamless\" transition have not been answered. They said earlier, \"In most cases, the migration is completely seamless. We have brought in a team of experienced migration experts to ensure this effort is handled with the best of care.\"

In the past it has often taken a few phone calls to get things back up. But this is the worst. The status blog had nothing about an outage even though I was told initially on Friday that it was my server that was down. In the past, same thing. No info on the status blog. Incorrect information from tech support.

This seems to be like cheap medical insurance--when you\'re healthy, it doesn\'t matter. When you\'re not, it\'s bad. Same with my experience with midPhase. When my sites are running, they\'re fine. When they are down it has taken what I feel is an unacceptable time to get back on the air. As I write this, I\'m still down. I do have a site backup which I\'ll use to move to a new hosting service, but that\'s a lot of work and trouble. I hope they don\'t argue about a pro-rated refund.

This is an account of my own experience. Your mileage may vary.
Submitted By : Discouraged
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 98.150.202.219 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : July 27th, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 4 out of 5
Reliability : 4 out of 5
Support : 4 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I've had pretty good success with these guys. I don't really like dealing with their Russian (?) support team, but their phone support is all in Chicago. After having an issue with my DNS settings, a quick 5 minute phone call got the problem fixed. The tech (Rob?) was incredibly cool and understanding.

I've been with a few other hosts over the past few months and I have to say, I think I'll end up sticking with these guys just because they really try.

Nicola
Submitted By : Nicola
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 216.80.75.11 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : July 22nd, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : The quality of midphase's hosting services has declined precipitously over the last three months. In the past, it was fairly reliable; over the last three months, though, it is subject to almost daily outages that last at least two or three minutes. I've seen outages that not only take down my site, but also midphase's status blog and knowledgebase discussion boards. Service staff are polite, but also deluded: they'll deny anything is wrong when, in fact, the status blog is down. Not recommended AT ALL.
Submitted By : Adam
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 76.17.165.197 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : April 7th, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : When we first joined midphase, they were fine and we had no problems. Lately though they have become horrid. Our email goes out on average twice a week, generally for the entire working day. Our website's connection to the database that holds our products also gets severed regularly. When we submit trouble tickets, we are never told why the problem occurred, only that "it should be working now." These guys are terrible. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.
Submitted By : Steve
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.85.32.215 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : February 8th, 2008
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : This company talks a great quality game, but my companies experience has been anything but that. In three months I have had 5 individual times when our site was not available timing out on 404 errors or 310s. My customers kept complaining that they could not get to our site.
I then switched over to their silver VPS service. Well we lost 5 days of seach result visibility from google because midphase had an old site on our supposed dedicated DNS. So when people went to our URL they get some other companies website.
The claim to be sensitive to customer needs, but when I wrote their Managers, I recieved no response. Just this week one of their VPS tech support guys was supposed to call us back on an important FTP issue,.........well its been 4 days and I'm still waiting to hear back.
Submitted By : Brian
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 70.143.77.184 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : September 4th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Have been hosting with them for 3 years now. No big problems as yet. But thats because we are using the server for development purposes only and not to receive any real high level traffic.

Support can be a bit of a pain with them not bothering to read the message entirely and you could get treated like a complete newbie to the internet. Seems they just skim the support messages.
Submitted By : raj
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 219.64.130.193 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : August 22nd, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : Yikes!

I have never experienced the ups and downs as I have with MidPhase. Whoops! Down again... and again... and again... especially in the past 9 months.

To their credit, they recently moved to a new data center but I've been down about as often since then. They have a nice RSS feed that I can check when I'm down but it doesn't usally list my server. Many of their downtimes are listed as "doing a FSCK - will be up in about 4 hours"

I can't be down for 4 hours at a time. Moving all domains off of MidPhase ASAP.
Submitted By : Stirfri
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 208.65.91.164 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : July 17th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : Absolutely AWFUL. I would have given them all zeros if there was an option of zero...

Their service is awful. Websites are up less than 90% of the time and they have worst customer service out there.

It seems like its bunch of family members working at a house with no real business plan and extremely rude and not caring customer service....


Besides they will do anything to convince you to move to a VP (anything meaning to stop giving you service in normal hosting plans).

STAY AWAY.
Submitted By : user2584
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 74.140.111.180 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : June 25th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : This host is extremely oversold.
Support is sluggish, and resolutions are hard to get within a day.
They advertise in the customer's cPanel.
I have about 90% uptime with them, give or take.

OVERALL: STAY CLEAR OF THIS COMPANY (It's hard to call it that)
Submitted By : Paul
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.193.33.166 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : June 20th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : My company has been a customer of midPhase for 4 years, and we will be switching companies as soon as possible. Over the years, the amount of down time has steadily increased. As our company is growing larger, we cannot afford to have our web site down and our emails not sent or received for days. Their customer service always gives an 'Oh well, we'll get it working eventually' response. I suggest you look for another alternative to midPhase for hosting services.
Submitted By : 4yearCustomer
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 75.15.44.198 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : May 31st, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 3 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : This is not a host suitable for beginners. The few tutorials they have are not particulary helpful. There are no instructions on how to do anything, support was not helpful, and it is very difficult to find answers to questions. If you just need a host and already have the experience and knowledge to get your own site up and running, then this might be a great option for you. If you are a beginner and know very little about running a website, then you need to look elsewhere.
Submitted By : Gary
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 205.188.116.76 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : May 23rd, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : Nice group of people but horrible up time! I'm so frustrated I'm actually writing a review!

I used this company for a client's website. My client was doing basic updates. But every few weeks, without fail Midphase would have some new problem that required us to alert them to the problem, then we'd have to jump through hoops to get the problem resolved! Unacceptable.

I gave this company a low rating because they failed to provide what is important: A hosting plan that doesn't go down constantly.

MY ADVICE: Avoid this company!
Submitted By : Tanner
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 24.158.156.119 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : April 30th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : Do yourself a favor.. DON'T even touch them with a ten foot pole. Once a pretty reliable hosting company is now a mere joke of a company. There VPS and Dedicate hosting SUCKS. Down almost everyday. There cheap shared hosting is ok. Must better that there semi and dedicate stuff. Yes they are cheap but so is there product. Why try to save 20 - 100 dollars just to lose 10x that min in lost sales and down time. I am tiring to get away from them. It is so hard to move sites that is why I have put up with them this long but enough is enough even after 5 day of emails they cant even get my email account working. And now since there move my sites are so SlOOOOOOOOW is crazy.. Run Run as fast as you can away from Midphase.com. Don't say you were not warned..
Submitted By : chris
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 89.113.75.250 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : April 24th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : Used to be fine.

Since their move to their 'own' facility, service interruptions occur weekly or more.

Yesterday all of our servers there were black for over 8 hours. Yes, 8 hours. No status reports other than we're working on it, full voicemail box for support, nobody answering the phones.

Stay away!

Submitted By : stu
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 71.255.125.90 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : April 23rd, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : Simply put, STAY AWAY. The worst hosting company I have ever seen.
Submitted By : Sam
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 143.166.226.42 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : March 4th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 4 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : This is an awesome webhost.

It's one of the best I think.
There support is really great. I never had to wait more than 10 minutes for a reply.

Problems are solved quickly.

They are always friendly.

There 99.9% uptime guarantee does really work.

Once I had a downtime of little more than 1 hour. I mailed them to say that my uptime was only 99.83% and immediately they gave me a coupon with value of 1 month hosting for a next purchase on their site.
Submitted By : Robin
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 81.164.39.111 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : February 28th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : Not recommended whatsoever.

This is the first review I've ever posted for any webhosting company. Midphase has cost us thousands of dollars over the past few months. Every minute our site is down, we lose money and clients. Over the past couple weeks alone our site has been offline for a couple hours almost every other day! We're migrating to a new host now...

Currently they claim the downtimes are due to migrating from the chicago IBX datacenter to their own self-made datacenter?? How can reliability improve from moving from one of the best datacenters in the world (IBX datacenter) to their own self made one? The guys are trying to cut costs as their clients expense...absolutely rediculous!
Submitted By : Joe
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 72.38.228.165 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : February 19th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 4 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : Awesome host!

I have used midPhase for about 7months now and absolutely love them! I have yet to have any problems with them. My site has never been down for even one minute, not once. When I was having problems figuring things out, they were always there to help, quick and easy to understand.

They offer a lot of space and bandwidth for the price per month. I have 25GB space and 1.5TB bandwidth for $8/month, can't beat that.

The only downfall to this host is the single MySQL database you get with the $8/month plan. For a extra $2/month you can get unlimited, but have not had need for this yet.

- Free Domain
- 25GB space
- 1.5TB Bandwidth
- MySQL Database(s)
- Free Yahoo! Search Marketing ($50 value)
- Nice Control Panel
- and MUCH MORE!

I would recommend this host to anyone.
Submitted By : Jacob
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 4.230.57.55 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : February 7th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Wow, where do i start? The only reason i am taking my time to do this is to warn others to stay away from midphase. I just read the review from dec '06 and is exactly what i am experiencing. I have been with them for over 2 years and for the most part they were "ok" not good or bad. But the last 6 months have been a nightmare and is the reason we are switching hosts in the next 2 weeks. During our busiest month (december) we were down, completely, for 2+ hours, yes HOURS. I had never seen anything like it. I called and complained and they made me feel like i was an a-hole for complaining. They agree to give me one month credit, funny thing is i just checked my account and they credited me 1/2 of a month - Even recently was down in the middle of the day for 25 minutes...no warning, explanation etc....here's exactly what they said:
Hello.
Dear customer, we will do our best to improve our services.
Please excuse us for the inconveniences.
--
Thank you,
Dmitry Melnik,
Lead Server Administrator

support@midphase.com

STAY AWAY... from midphase - they don't understand (or care) about your business web site.
Submitted By : mpsux
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.109.151.67 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : January 18th, 2007
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Buyer beware!

I signed up for an account with Midphase on August 30, 2006. They suspended my account because of their internal policy that I wasn't CLEARLY made aware of when I originally signed up because I was misled to believe one thing. After many, many emails to various people in their organization and much mucho bulls%#t from their staff in a span of 5 months, I still haven't received my refund. I know around $150 ain't that much but I'm not gonna give $150 to someone I'm not getting anything back. What am I, a cash machine?

There's more to their lies, broken promises, etc etc on my site. Midphase REALLY sucks.

http://www.bryanboy.com/bryanboy_le_superstar_fab/2007/01/buyer_beware_do.html
Submitted By : bryanboy
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 125.212.52.10 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 22nd, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : We provide hosting services to small businesses in our area. We started in 1998 with a host that was very expensive, but always reliable. Several years later, that Company was bought-out by a larger one and we lost some features. To regain the additional features, it would have cost us even more, forcing us to raise our prices while everyone else was lowering them. So we switched. After much research, we went with another host who promised us everything, but delivered very little. By this time, we had built up our client base, only to have many of them leave due to the problems. We were forced to hunt down another host. Which brings us to midpahse. They appeared to have above average reviews and excellent reliability - and their pricing was great, so we switched again. They lived up to their reputation, provided great service and we proceeded to expand our customer base again. However, during the past few months, their service has nose-dived. Twice, all our hosted sites have gone down without notice. We get either no response from technical support, or lame excuses as to why it went down and unfulfilled promises about when it will be restored. Our customers are again threatening leaving if the reliability doesn't improve. This place has gone from a very reputable and trusted host to a third-rate unprofessional poor excuse for a legitimate host. Read the reviews, you will see there is a recent trend of very bad service. This is a sign of poor management. They seem to lack good planning, have very bad communication with their customers and don't seem to care. We are once again searching for a new host - or maybe we will just abandon this business. We try extremely hard to provide good service and value to our customers, only to have it undone by an incompetent host. Midphase had a good thing going and now they seem to be throwing it away. I predict they have very little time left to turn things around or they will be history!
Submitted By : pissed-off
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 72.81.26.238 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : December 15th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : nightmare web hosting. stay away from midPhase.

- useless support staff. some don't even understand english.
- expensive.
- zero reliability. hosting gets interrupted for more than an hour almost every month.

the worst of all, they try to hide the fact that the server was down. they are the worst.
Submitted By : nightmare
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 76.21.109.87 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 24th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : This company is hand down the worst hosting provider online! I have websites that are hosted with 6 different companies. Midphase is a horrible, horrible company! They lie all the time. Each time you call their 24 hour phone support they lie to you. The phone support does not know anything about anything and the only answer they will give you other then some dumb lie is "email the admins". Then when you email the admins its take on average 2 days to hear back from them. On top of that they will not help you in any way what so ever. As I webmaster for over 8 years, with over 50 personal and 50 client sites, hosted on 6 different hosting services, I would advise against doing any business of any sort with MidPhase Hosting!
Submitted By : webdesign-since1995
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 67.136.65.26 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : November 14th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : This Company is a joke.
My email is always down.
They give me a lame excuse like they need to rebuild the windows box.
I just want a hosting company who can deliver on their promis of being up 24x7.

This is stuppid their customer service is horible.
I would not recommend using these guys.
No point if your email will not work 100%.
they are always redoing my boxes.
The customer service people ask me to spell my url everytime i call.
What a waste.
Submitted By : jason
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.230.183.46 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : November 2nd, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : just that i always have trouble ..

i thought i didn't actually want to write review but i'm just so mad at these people right now...

just don't go with these guys. thier customer support is very bad.

here is the story...
i've "had to" to automatic renewal and if you don't cancel their service they just won't consider refund... that's okay .. cuz yeah ultimately "it's in the contract"
but how they treat you is the part that you need to concern about.

i asked if i can get a refund and they said..
if it's after renewal, refund will be review in CASE BY CASE. but the only way you can cancel our service is through filling out this form..(which turns out to be the automated response-ish thing i'll tell you later more about this)

okay so i did that. and now they said that we can't issue a refund. in like 3 hours later.
ummm. .yeah so if that's the case why can't they just tell me that before i fill out cancellation form?? i have no idea.

and after a day.. they send me a reply saying.. we generally don't issue refund for renewed one... umm.. yeah they treat people who stayed a year and recommended to other people like nothing.. seriously...

then i asked for reactivation to utilize my money...
site shuts down... great another hassle. .. and that was taken care of like in a day.. but now i don't have access to my billing account (they give you two by the way.. one for host and one for billing)

their response to regaining the access
THAT VERY SAME message that i got when i asked if you can issue a refund...

it is just super....
they don't really listen to you. that's for sure.
just skip this one.
Submitted By : vacantsonar
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.121.245.196 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : October 11th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 4 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : midPhase has been a great host for me. The sites I host are generally low-traffic. So, I have no experience with their dedicated servers. But, I've never had a problem with the shared servers. The pricing is great for the features. There is the occasional downtime. But, it is minimal and has never been a major inconvenience to me. Overall, I think midPhase is a very good host.
Submitted By : Stephen
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.89.95.84 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : July 11th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : Less than 1 month
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : Great initial support, and good price.
Submitted By : Mike
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 65.91.201.115 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : May 28th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : Damn. I told them I wanted to cancel my account exactly 20 days ago.. They said to me you must fill our cancel form. And I filled out. But they didn't close my account and recharge 53$ again. I write a ticket them. They sais to me always transferring other department bla bla bla. This hosting company is a thief. This is very clear. May be they have a fast servers. But Trust is most important thing in commerce relation. If you give your credit numbers to them , you may never cancel your account , because they never close..
Submitted By : volkan
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 85.98.181.65 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : February 26th, 2006
Length of time hosted by this company : More than 3 years
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 2 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : Something fishy is going on at MidPhase where the service is unreliable on Sundays for me. I think they do a backup and I think it hangs or something and it leaves my site in a mess.

I've had other problems where I called and worked with the systems people and there was something strange going on and they were playing games and weren't honest with me. I think it had to do with a security breach.
Submitted By : John Doe
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 12.118.92.34 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : September 16th, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 3 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 4 out of 5
Verdict : While on shared hosting midPhase was great. Fast servers along with timely staff who knew what they were talking about. But apparently, they only want you to use 10% of the servers memory at any given time. I was literally forced into moving onto a dedicated server. Here is where service, uptime and general quality drops. The dedicated server which we were paying $140 a month for couldnt handle us either. It was worse than the shared host. Our site was constantly down, and during the few minutes a day that it was online, the server load was in the 50's making the site unbearably slow to browse.

I didnt like this service at all so I wanted to cancel. Their TOS asks for a 14 day grace period when cancelling. But come cancellation time, I am told that I needed to give them 30 days in order to cancel a dedicated server, something not mentioned in their TOS. After about two weeks of arguing, along with a early charge for the next month of service when I had cancelled in time, I was able to get the server disconnected. The reason it took two weeks after cancelling was because their staff sometimes took up to 5 or 6 days to respond to my tickets, even after I submitted "what happened?" follow ups every 24 hours. Actually, it wasnt until I threated to send a letter to their CEO and dispute the charge that I was even responded to.

The midPhase staff arent briefed properly on customers and are sometimes rude. The host is alright for shared customers, but there are many better hosts out there.

Just stay away.
Submitted By : Faraaz
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 68.124.230.66 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : August 26th, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 2 out of 5
Verdict : Ok, so here's the deal. We bought a shared package from Midphase and about a month later it got suspended due to our site using too many of their resources (which is understandable since our site is big). So they transfer us to a dedicated server which costs about 10x the amount of a shared. Of course, since we are on our own server, we were expecting a very good uptime rate. WE WERE VERY WRONG. Once going on this Celeron dedicated host they gave us, we began getting downtimes at least TWICE A DAY lasting anywhere from 10 minutes to 2 hours. We submitted many trouble tickets and we have got responses everytime.. but NONE FIXED THE PROBLEM. So we decided to move to another server because this one obviously couldn't support our site (even though it is small enough for any dedicated server to host, I guarantee it). We submitted a cancellation notice before the 14-day limit as stated in their TOS. We get a response a few days later saying that we were not in the "30-day" limit for cancelling a server and that we are BEING BILLED FOR ANOTHER MONTH. I searched the TOS and there was nothing about a 30-day notice; only a 14-day notice. So we sent a message back about five days before the cut-off period and said that there was only the 14-day clause in the TOS. It has been four days and I have not received a single response yet.

Final Note: Their dedicated servers just plain suck. Uptime is pathetic, system specs are pathetic, and their cancellation service likes to delay their responses. I DO NOT recommend Midphase to anyone who is seeking a dedicated solution for their site.
Submitted By : ShadowLink64
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 142.59.170.61 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : August 12th, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 6 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : They crashed my dedicated server, did not tell me about it for days and caused my business website to lose thousands in income. Afterward, they charged me twice on my recurring mastercard and put me into collections when I cancelled their service and went to another provider. This company has no business ethics and I do not recommend them to anyone seeking a reliable and responsive web host.
Submitted By : Nan
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 70.35.122.174 
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : August 3rd, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 1 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 1 out of 5
Pricing : 1 out of 5
Verdict : These comments are based on my recent personal experience with MidPhase: Last November, I decided to give MidPhase a try after my hosting package ended with IPowerWeb. I never had a problem with IPowerWeb before, but figured it was time that I find what else was out there. I searched the web and was hooked with MidPhase's promise of "Unmetered" bandwidth, and signed up immediately. For starters, the domain name that I asked for was never configured properly. I called and asked why my domain name wasn't registered and was told that sometimes it takes longer than 24-48 hours. It was a reasonable response so I waited, and waited... I got sidetracked with school and didn't get back to building my website until the beginning of May. I noticed that my domain name still wasn't registered. So I called to find out what was going on. Each time I got someone's voice mail stating that it was best that I send them an e-mail. Silly me to expect a human being on the other end of the phone line to resolve these matters and get a refund for the months my account had been bungled! So I kept leaving messages and no one ever responded. Finally, I got someone on the phone (shock). I was so fed up at this point, I simply asked to cancel my subscription and get the remaining 3-4 months refunded. What followed was one of the most HORRIBLE customer service experiences I have had in my lifetime. I was told that the reason my domain was never setup properly was because it had the "us.com" postfix. If they had charged me a little extra to get this domain setup, I would have never complained. Why didn't they tell me this when I signed up? When I called the first time? Because their customer support IS NONEXISTANT! I went round and round about getting a refund with the sales associate (and eventually manager) and the best they would offer me was a credit of one month. One stinking month! RIDICULOUS! At the end of my rope, I told them that I would charge them back the amount with my credit card company. They replied by threatening to take me to collections. So I likewise responded telling them I would take them to court. The screaming went on and on, but MidPhase's customer support "professionals" didn't get it. We were fighting over a paltry amount of $21-28! It's not worth the loss of a customer and the negative publicity that goes with it. I wasn't even asking for a full refund. Besides, the customer is ALWAYS RIGHT, a motto that they obviously don't include into their business model. Now that I have searched the web, I have come across countless negative experiences that reinforced what I had to find out the hard way: MidPhase isn't professional and others have had far worse experiences. Beware of this company! AVOID THEM LIKE THE PLAGUE! And don't be surprised if they get caught up in a class action lawsuit. As for IPowerWeb, I'm sorry I ever left you!
Submitted By : Scott
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Submiter IP : 204.124.94.222 
Add new response or edit existing response


Current No.1 User Rated Web Host
HostGator
Overall Rating:
9.82 out of 10 based on 69 customer reviews - read reviews
Exclusive Coupon: Use coupon code 'crazygator25' during checkout to get 25% Off. 
Visit HostGator.com

Date Submitted : May 3rd, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : 1 - 3 years
Overall Rating : 2 out of 5
Reliability : 1 out of 5
Support : 2 out of 5
Pricing : 3 out of 5
Verdict : I've been on this host from a year or so. Earlier there were no problems whatsoever and no complaints even though mine was a high trafiic website. But from the past few months, the service has become worse. Its even inferior compared to some free hosting services. The server goes down every other day and its takes hours and sometimes up to an entire day to get it working. Whenever asked, they simply reply by saying "we are rebooting your server, please check in another 10-15 minutes". This 10-15 minutes turns out to be a few hours. This has happened too many times and I've moved out. Not worth signing up given the quality of their service.
Submitted By : Naveen
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : January 8th, 2005
Length of time hosted by this company : 6 - 12 months
Overall Rating : 4 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 3 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : midPhase is a great hosting company that provides excellent hosting packages. They have fantastic uptime! It is a steal to get hosting this cheap, with such great features, in a great datacenter. They have their servers at Equinix, the same datacenters that eBay, Sony, and other major companies use. Their customer support is not the best, but it usually gets the problem solved. The tech support people do not speak proper English, so it often takes a while to understand them. I would definitely recommend midPhase to anyone all of my clients use it!
Submitted By : Paul
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Add new response or edit existing response


Date Submitted : August 14th, 2004
Length of time hosted by this company : Less than 1 month
Overall Rating : 5 out of 5
Reliability : 5 out of 5
Support : 5 out of 5
Pricing : 5 out of 5
Verdict : I was finally able to resolve my problem with verizon (routing) and am now able to get to midphase.com to manage my domains. I am mega pleased with speed and with ease of use. Please disregard prior post when I was frustrated with Verizon. Rating for this host is perfect.

Submitted By : bev
Submitted From : Web Hosting Jury
Add new response or edit existing response


midPhase Site Screenshot - http://www.midphase.com

 

* This site uses Thumbshots previews


Newest Reviews

  • ValcatoHosting
  • Citymax
  • DreamHost
  • Blurstorm
  • AccuWebHosting
  • JodiHost
  • Go Daddy
  • Omnis
  • United Hosting
  • 247-host
  • Network Solutions
  • 1and1
  • GigaPros
  • UKHost4U
  • BrontoBytes





  •  
     


    © Web Hosting Jury
    *All reviews and content are the property of Web Hosting Jury and may not be copied without prior written consent. All violations will be prosecuted to the full extent of the law.
    All reviews on this website are the opinion or experience of the respective review writer. By publishing these reviews on our site we do not agree or have the same opinion as the writer of the review.
    Please send all comments and suggestions to webmaster@webhostingjury.com
    midPhase 2.0 out of 5 based on 43 user reviews.